Book Review: Winell Road by Kate Foster

31448193

Title: Winell Road
Author: Kate Foster
Published: September 2nd 2016
Publisher: Kate Foster
Genre: Middle Grade, Sci-Fi
Length: 146 pages
Source: eBook from author

Book Blurb (via Goodreads):

Living on Winell Road is hardly fun, not when your neighbors are weirder than your own parents.
But the road has a secret that few people know.
And Jack’s about to uncover it.

Mystery, action and adventure. This award-winning sci-fi series is “highly recommended” for middle grade readers.

For fans of Men in Black and Zac Power, Winell Road is jam-packed with “loads of twists and turns” that will keep you guessing to the end.

My Thoughts

I was lucky enough to be gifted a copy of this book by the author and I’m so glad that she let me read it. I’ve not read a lot of stories about aliens, but I know that they can executed poorly and I was sincerely hoping that this wouldn’t be the case with Winell Road. I loved this book. It was full of adventure, aliens, and fun! It’s a whirlwind of a story that I found hard to put down.

Jack has lived on Winell Road for years and come to know his strange neighbours and their habits fairly well. When a new family moves into the street, Jack suddenly finds his boring summer turns into an exciting adventure to save the universe. But is everything as it really seems? Who is the mysterious woman who moved in along with her daughter? Are his neighbours more than a little strange… are they out of this world?

There’s so much to love about this book, but I think perhaps my favourite thing about it is Jack. He thinks that he’s the most boring kid there is and he has the most mundane street ever, and boy does he turn out to be wrong on both points! His yearning for adventure is something that most kids dream of, I think; to be part of something big and exciting. So when Jack discovers little aliens in his bedroom, who try to recruit him on a mission to save the universe, he’s not exactly going to turn that down, is he?

I must admit, this is a clever book. There’s a lot of nudges for the reader to point them in a certain direction and usually, I’m pretty good at working out what’s actually going on, but Foster has weaved an excellent tale that kept me intrigued and still guessing. Just when you think you’ve worked it all out, something pops up to let you know you’re completely wrong, leaving only the excitement of the reveal to come.

With the strange coincidences and the clues that leave Jack confused about who to trust, the reader is taken along for the ride as he battles against alien foes in his efforts to recover the missing item that keeps the universe in balance.

Exploring trust and friendship, Winell Road takes you on an adventure that is out of this world without leaving home.

4-stars

Buy Links!
Amazon UK | Amazon US | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository


About the Author

I am a freelance editor and proof reader, working directly with authors and small presses. I am also the editorial director at Lakewater Press. I volunteer my time proof reading and interviewing authors for Ink Pantry Publishing. I was a slushie for the online pitching contest NestPitch, and an industry pro judge for writing contests run by Freshly Squeezed Reads, and a 2015 MG Pitch Wars mentor. My debut MG novel, Winell Road: Beneath the Surface, was published by Jet Black Publishing in April 2015.

Website | Twitter | Goodreads

*Picture and Biography from Goodreads

One thought on “Book Review: Winell Road by Kate Foster

  1. Pingback: Week In Review: December 12th to December 18th – Heather Reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s