Book Review: The Progeny by Tosca Lee

27221614

Title: The Progeny
Author: Tosca Lee
Published: May 24th 2016
Publisher: Howard Books
Genre: Historical Fiction, Mystery, Thriller, Fantasy
Length: 336 pages
Source: NetGalley eARC

Book Blurb (via Goodreads):

New York Times bestselling author Tosca Lee brings a modern twist to an ancient mystery surrounding the most notorious female serial killer of all time. A fast-paced thriller for fans of Ted Dekker’s The Books of Mortals, Dan Brown’s The Da Vinci Code, and BBC America’s hit series Orphan Black.

Emily Jacobs is the descendant of a serial killer. Now, she’s become the hunted.

She’s on a quest that will take her to the secret underground of Europe and the inner circles of three ancient orders—one determined to kill her, one devoted to keeping her alive, and one she must ultimately save.

Filled with adrenaline, romance, and reversals, The Progeny is the present-day saga of a 400-year-old war between the uncanny descendants of “Blood Countess” Elizabeth Bathory, the most prolific female serial killer of all time, and a secret society dedicated to erasing every one of her descendants. A story about the search for self filled with centuries-old intrigues against the backdrop of atrocity and hope.

My Thoughts

I don’t remember what called me to this book initially. It was one of those books that I thought had a pretty cover and the blurb grabbed me enough that I wanted to pick it up. I was disappointed with how slow it started, but I’m glad I persevered, because this turned out to be one of the best reads I’d had in a while.

Emily can’t remember anything. She paid to have her memory removed. But when her life turns out to still be in danger from the past she no longer remembers, she must put her trust in a boy who seems to know her so well and hope that things will work out. There’s a dangerous faction looking for the secrets that she has wiped from her head and only by remembering who she was will she be able to fight back.

Okay, so I’m going to start by saying that this book is slow as hell to build up the tension and then it explodes in the last 30-40% of the book. I was reading this on my kindle and got to 59% and just… stopped. I put it down and I didn’t pick it back up again for ages. It wasn’t that the book was bad or that I wasn’t enjoying it. It was just too slow paced for my liking and I felt like nothing was really happening.

But then all the little questions started getting answered and things starting happening and I was suddenly so enthralled by what was going on that I devoured the last 30-40% in a single sitting (or it might have been over two days) and my mind was blown by the end of it. So much so that I really want to find out what happens next, slow start be damned.

I really enjoyed Emily’s journey throughout the story. She’s banished herself to a reclusive cabin in the woods type house, away from civilisation in the hopes that she’ll be safe. Once she discovers that she’s not, she ends up travelling around the world in the hopes of uncovering the secrets she tried to erase and find out just what exactly is going on.

It turns out, there’s a secret organisation that’s hell bent on destroying everyone in her genetic line for their link to the Bathory’s. Emily apparently knows where Elizabeth Bathory’s diary is… but if she ever did, it’s gone now.

What ensues is the usual death, destruction, bribes and blackmail as Emily and her friends work together to influence their way across the country using their gifts as Progeny. This is the reason I kept reading. While it was a little tedious to read of their travels across borders and such, their gifts, the people hunting them, it all keep me perched on the edge of my seat eager to find out what happens.

And, of course, there’s a massive reveal at the end. There’s a lot of little things gradually revealed throughout the story, but the final surprise really made me gasp and now I’m dying to read the next book because I have to find out what happens next.

Full of mystery, intrigue, daring escapes and deathly adventures, The Progeny is one of those rare books that has a little of everything to make a perfect read.

5-stars

Buy Links!
Amazon UK | Amazon US | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository


About the Author

Tosca Lee is the award-winning, New York Times bestselling author of ISCARIOT; THE LEGEND OF SHEBA; DEMON: A MEMOIR; HAVAH: THE STORY OF EVE; and the Books of Mortals series with New York Times bestseller Ted Dekker (FORBIDDEN, MORTAL, SOVEREIGN). A notorious night-owl, she loves watching TV, eating bacon, playing Call of Duty and football with her kids, and sending cheesy texts to her husband.

Website | Twitter | Goodreads

*Picture and Biography from Goodreads

One thought on “Book Review: The Progeny by Tosca Lee

  1. Pingback: Week In Review: January 30th to February 5th – Heather Reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s