Top 5 Wednesday | Books for Reading Slumps

top

Today’s topic for Top 5 Wednesday is books that can help get you out of a reading slump. So, here’s five books that have helped get me back into reading when I’ve had a slump in recent years.

1. And Then We Ran by Katy Cannon

33985636
Release Date: April 6th 2017
Goodreads

A road-trip story about following your dreams and embracing the unexpected.

Megan knows what she wants out of life and she intends to get it, whatever her parents say.

Elliott has given up on all his plans for the future – but then Megan bursts into his life with a proposal that could change it forever.

Together they embark on a road trip to escape their hometown and chase their dreams. But life is a journey and not even Megan can control where theirs will lead…

Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Rainbow Rowell and Non Pratt.

This book came to me during the #TBRTakedown 5.0 readathon where I didn’t feel like reading anything. I picked it up when it came through the door and after a couple days, I was finished. I couldn’t put it down.

2. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

19174917
Release Date: January 30th 2014
Goodreads

Cath and Wren are identical twins, and until recently they did absolutely everything together. Now they’re off to university and Wren’s decided she doesn’t want to be one half of a pair any more – she wants to dance, meet boys, go to parties and let loose. It’s not so easy for Cath. She would rather bury herself in the fanfiction she writes where there’s romance far more intense than anything she’s experienced in real life.

Now Cath has to decide whether she’s ready to open her heart to new people and new experiences, and she’s realizing that there’s more to learn about love than she ever thought possible …

A tale of fanfiction, family, and first love

I picked this book up because it had been sitting on my shelf for ages. I wasn’t feeling any of the books that I was reading at that time and I wanted something light and fluffy to read. I read this in a single day, staying up until a ridiculous time in the morning to finish it.

3. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

19547856
Release Date: April 7th 2015
Goodreads

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.

I remember there being a lot of buzz surrounding this book when it was first coming out. I was lucky enough to snag a copy through NetGalley. I was having trouble deciding what to read next and so I picked this one up, hoping that it would hold my interest. This is another one that I read in a couple of days. I fell in love.

4. Alfie Bloom and the Secrets of Hexbridge Castle by Gabrielle Kent

24684097
Release Date: June 4th 2015
Goodreads

A exciting story of magic, adventure and a mysterious inheritance. Perfect for fans of ENID BLYTON, ROALD DAHL, and J K ROWLING.

Alfie Bloom’s life is dull. Dull and lonely, and this summer is set to be the most boring yet. All of that changes when he is summoned to the bizarre offices of mysterious solicitor, Caspian Bone, where he discovers he has inherited a castle full of wonders that has been sealed for centuries. Alfie is astounded to learn he was born in that very castle six hundred years ago during a magical timeslip. There, Orin Hopcraft, the last of the druids hid an ancient magic inside him, which others seek but should never be used. With the help of his cousins Madeleine and Robin, and Artan the flying bearskin rug, Alfie must keep the magic from terrifying adversaries and ensure that the secrets of Hexbridge castle stay secret, forever!

I picked this book up after spending ages reading heavy fantasies or darker stories and it felt like a breath of fresh air. I breezed through this and its sequel in a matter of days and fell in love with the characters.

5. Cell 7 by Kerry Drewery

29864658
Release Date: September 22nd 2016
Goodreads

Should she live or die? You decide

An adored celebrity has been killed. Sixteen-year-old Martha Honeydew was found holding a gun, standing over the body.

Now Justice must prevail.

The general public will decide whether Martha is innocent or guilty by viewing daily episodes of the hugely popular TV show Death is Justice, the only TV show that gives the power of life and death decisions – all for the price of a phone call.

Martha has admitted to the crime. But is she guilty? Or is reality sometimes more complicated than the images we are shown on TV?

This one came to me at a time where I just really didn’t feel like reading at all. I picked it up, figuring I’d flick through the first couple pages and see what it was like. Before I knew it, I had read the whole thing.


What books got you out of a reading slump? Do you tend to have a trend (I seem to lean towards contemporaries!)?

12 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday | Books for Reading Slumps

  1. Pingback: Week In Review: February 20th to February 26th | Heather Reviews

  2. Pingback: February Wrap Up | Heather Reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s