New Release Book Review: And Then We Ran by Katy Cannon

33985636

Title: And Then We Ran
Author: Katy Cannon
Published: April 6th 2017
Publisher: Stripes Publishing
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Length: 352 pages
Source: Paperback from the Publisher

Book Blurb (via Goodreads):

A road-trip story about following your dreams and embracing the unexpected.

Megan knows what she wants out of life and she intends to get it, whatever her parents say.

Elliott has given up on all his plans for the future – but then Megan bursts into his life with a proposal that could change it forever.

Together they embark on a road trip to escape their hometown and chase their dreams. But life is a journey and not even Megan can control where theirs will lead…

Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Rainbow Rowell and Non Pratt.

My Thoughts

I’ve always loved anything Katy Cannon has written and so I was super excited to read her newest book. Cannon’s books are the kind of contemporaries that always leave me feeling happy. I always have a smile on my face, a contented sigh, and all the warm fuzzy feelings because the romances are just too damn cute. This book was no different.

Megan is living in her sister’s shadow. Ever since her elder sister died in a tragic accident, Megan’s parents have pushed the academic future they wanted for their eldest onto Megan even though it isn’t what she wants. Elliot used to have big dreams but ever since his father cheated the town and put a black cloud over their family, he’s cast his dreams aside in order to help out at home. With both of them feeling the pressure of their families’ expectations, they can only see one way out. They’re going on a road trip to Gretna Green to get married.

This book was just… amazing. I powered through it in a couple of days. Megan and Elliot are ridiculously adorable and it was an absolute pleasure to read their journey.

Megan is feeling the pressure to go to the university her older sister was planning to attend. Her parents want her to get her grades up, to give up her frivolous hobby of photography and focus on making a real career for herself. With all the pressure, it’s no wonder that poor Megan wants to escape to London. There’s already a flat waiting for her that was left by a relative. The problem is that her parents don’t listen. They think they know what’s best, and boy don’t we all know how that feels when a parent (or parents) go down that road?

I loved Megan. She was smart and sassy and strong-willed. She knows what she wants and she’s doing everything she can to make it happen, even if that means asking the boy she was best friends with while growing up to marry her. It seems ludicrous but her reasons totally sounded legit to me. I could understand where she was coming from and I wanted them to succeed in their plans.

Elliot’s living in his father’s shadow. Even though his dad is in jail and Elliot wants nothing to do with him, the things his dad did still linger in the minds of the rest of the folks living in town. His girlfriend is possessive of him, his mother is trying to push him towards university even though they can’t afford it, and his older brother is off studying to join the Navy so he can escape.

Poor Elliot really was having a hard time. I hated his girlfriend. I wanted to smoosh her face for the way that she was treating him. His brother wasn’t much better. I couldn’t decide if Sean, the older brother, was using Becca, Megan’s friend, just to get answers on what was going on between Megan and Elliot or not. He seemed like a right douche for the majority of the story.

The best part was the double love stories. While Megan and Elliot were by far my favourite, Sean and Becca’s mini-love story was cute too. I loved the inclusion of texts and call logs, it was a nice touch.

The road trip inevitably finds its pitfalls and what should have been a straight forward journey turns into an hilarious higglety-pigglety journey across the country as they try to make it to Gretna Green in time for their wedding.

This is the perfect contemporary for the summer.

5-stars

Buy Links!
Amazon UK | Amazon US | Book Depository | Foyles | Waterstones


About the Author

Katy was born in Abu Dhabi, grew up in Wales, went to university in Lancaster, spent a few years splitting her time between London, Hertfordshire, and an assortment of hotels across the world. She now lives in a little market town not far from Cambridge. She has a husband, two children, a goldfish, and far too many notebooks.

Katy likes to write stories about the importance of friends and family, and especially those friends who become family. She considers herself most fortunate to have been blessed with an abundance of all three.

As a teenager, Katy was constantly in trouble for reading when she should have been doing something else. These days, she mostly gets in trouble for dreaming up new stories when she should be writing the ones she’s already working on.

Katy’s debut YA novel, LOVE, LIES & LEMON PIES, has been translated into eight languages. Her next book, AND THEN WE RAN, will be released in April 2017.

Katy is represented by Gemma Cooper at The Bent Agency.

Website | Twitter | Goodreads

*Picture and Biography from Goodreads

3 thoughts on “New Release Book Review: And Then We Ran by Katy Cannon

  1. Pingback: Week In Review: February 20th to February 26th | Heather Reviews

  2. Pingback: A Brilliant Book Trailer – Katy Cannon

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s